Driver License Requirements

In Florida, non-commercial driver licenses are called “Class E Driver Licenses.” Below are the requirements for obtaining a Class E Driver’s License.

If you are under the age of 18, you must:

  • Be at least 16 years old.
  • Have held learner’s permit for at least one-year conviction free.
  • Take and pass the Driving Skills Road Test at one of our offices. You must provide a vehicle for the driving test. The vehicle must have a valid tag, proof of insurance, and pass a vehicle inspection. During the driving test, the examiner will observe your ability to control the vehicle and how well you obey traffic laws.
  • Your parent or guardian or another responsible adult 21 years old or older must be present with their identification to certify that you have had 50 hours of driving experience; 10 of which must include nighttime driving. If such a person cannot be present, they must complete Certification of Driving Experience of a Minor.
  • Bring in the required documents to confirm your identity. Please visit our required documents page for more information and to download a handy checklist.
  • Pay applicable fees.

If you are 18 or older and have never held a learner’s permit or driver’s license before, you must:

  • Complete Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course. This course is NOT offered in our offices. It must be completed through a third party provider.
  • Pass the Traffic Laws and Road Signs test at one of our offices. Please note that this test is available at all of our branch locations, EXCEPT our South County office on 66th Street in St. Petersburg and our Main office at the Courthouse in downtown Clearwater. The Traffic Laws and Road Signs Test is a computer-based, multiple-choice exam. Studying the Florida Driver’s Handbook before taking the exam is highly recommended.
  • Take and pass the Driving Skills Road Test at one of our offices. You must provide a vehicle for the driving test. The vehicle must have a valid tag, proof of insurance, and pass a vehicle inspection. During the driving test, the examiner will observe your ability to control the vehicle and how well you obey traffic laws.
  • Pass a vision test, so please make sure to wear your glasses or contacts, if needed.
  • Bring in the required documents to confirm your identity. Please visit our required documents page for more information and to download a handy checklist.
  • Pay applicable fees.

 

If you are transferring your driver’s license from another state, you must:

  • Pass a vision test, so please make sure to wear your glasses or contacts, if needed.
  • Bring in the required documents to confirm your identity. Please visit our required documents page for more information and to download a handy checklist.
  • Pay applicable fees.