New Florida Residents

  • For information about obtaining a Florida driver license, click here.
  • How to transfer your vehicle’s title and registration:
    • Obtain vehicle insurance from a company licensed to do business in Florida. In other words, contact a Florida insurance agent.
    • Bring the following to our office:
      • The vehicle itself
      • Proof of identity (required for all owners)
      • Proof of Florida insurance
      • Proof of ownership:
        • The original out-of-state title, or
        • The registration if you are making payments and the bank is holding your title
      • The lease agreement if you are leasing the vehicle
    • We will verify the vehicle identification number (VIN) and note the mileage.
    • VIN verification is required for all USED motor vehicles not currently titled in Florida, including non-recreational trailers with a weight of 2,000 pounds or more. If you are unable to bring the vehicle, the VIN must be physically inspected by one of the following and documented on form HSMV 82042: Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer Verification.
        • A law enforcement officer from any state, or
        • A licensed Florida dealer, or
        • A Florida DMV Compliance Examiner/Inspector, DMV or Tax Collector employee, or
        • A notary public commissioned by the state of Florida, or
        • A military police officer, or
        • A sworn affidavit from the seller and purchaser verifying the VIN number shown on the affidavit is identical to the VIN on the motor vehicle
        • The purchaser and seller may sign form HSMV 82042 – Part A, Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer Verification, to verify the VIN and odometer reading in lieu of a separate affidavit.
    • When applying for title, ALL owners are required to sign a completed application for title (HSMV 82040). If an owner is unable to sign the form in the presence of a Tax Collector employee, he/she may sign his/her appropriate portion of the form and give it to the co-owner for submission to the agency. Remember: proof of identity is required for all owners.
    • In the state of Florida, a motor vehicle is required by law to be registered within 30 days of the owner either becoming employed, placing children in public school, or establishing residency. Registering your motor vehicle goes hand in hand with the titling process.
    • IMPORTANT: If you purchased your motor vehicle or vessel less than six months ago in another state, territory of the United States, or the District of Columbia, the full amount of six percent Florida sales tax and local one percent local discretionary sales tax is required to be paid before a title and registration can be issued. However, a credit may be allowed for a like tax paid in another state or territory of the United States or in the District of Columbia, against the amount of Florida sales or use tax and local discretionary sales surtax. Click here for more information.
  • Please note, when paying by credit or debit card, a convenience fee of 2.95% of the transaction total – with a minimum of $2.50 – fee is charged by our third-party payment processing vendor.